Pine Cones & Halle Berry

That’s how we sing it around here.  But that’s the only exception.

Christmas music is my favorite.  I love the old classics like Boyz 2 Men and Celine Dion.  Just kidding.  I like Bing Crosby, Nat King Cole, Brenda Lee – a little Judy Garland… I love a bit of Elvis and LOT of Barbra Steisand.  And I love the Carpenters!  I love the songs I know and not so much the songs I don’t.

Every year I buy a new cd or two.  This year I bought Justin Bieb*r because if he wasn’t so young I love him.  It’s mostly fantastic because there are many old songs redone in fantastic ways.  But then there are the new songs – the one’s I’ve never heard of and really never wanted to – those should just go right back on the itunes.  Who really learns new Christmas songs?

You do!  That’s right.  Today’s lesson is a few songs that you’ve probably never heard – unless you’re not part of the “in” crowd.  Or as my friend says, “You’re either part of the Inn crowd or one of the Stable few.”  It was kinda cute.  <wink>

1. Welcome to Our World by Chris Rice
This song is one of my favorites, year around.  But that’s because it’s about Jesus and I think the words are some of the sweetest I’ve ever heard.

2. It’s Christmas Time by The Carpenter’s
This is, by far, my favorite song to sing this time of year!  If you ask nicely (& feed me just 1 drink) I’d be happy to perform for you.  & although I don’t have that deep, delicious voice like Karen, I’ll entertain you.  You can be certain of that.

3. Breath of Heaven by Amy Grant
Haunting.  I just think this song is beautiful and her voice can never go wrong with me.

4. Mary Did You Know by Kutless
I’m sure you all know this one but I think it’s fantastic.  My favorite line is, “When you kiss your little baby, you kiss the face of God.”  Lovely.

5. While You Were Sleeping by Casting Crowns
Just the story – plain & simple.  It’s a bit dramatic at the end but it reminds me of all that can pass by me if I’m not paying attention.

Merry Christmas Adam, my friends.  I hope you finish all your odds & ends today.

2 comments on “Pine Cones & Halle Berry

  1. It’s not Christmas without Nat King Cole. 🙂

  2. My fave Christmas CD ever (and I’ve had to replace it twice for over use) is Count Your Blessings http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Count_Your_Blessings_(compilation_album)
    Its a wonderful album with strong female voices. My faves are Carol of the Bells and Are you Burning

    and

Leave a Reply

