Martin Luther King, Jr Day!

I wanted to post one of my favorite quotes today and also an excerpt from an email I got.  Both inspiring, honest and worthy of posting post after post…

“I would love it if my employer would find a way–trade Pioneer Day, say–to honor the memory of a man who rose from the shanty towns of segregation to re-endow that tarnished City we have imagined set upon a hill.

This is a man who not only spoke truth to power, but added to truth the magnificent power of non-violence. I remember as a boy, watching the March on Washington D.C. live, my father as angry as a hornet about the whole thing. Then Dr. King gave that speech and my father’s heart was completely turned around, thrown into reverse. He learned so much in those few minutes and I will never forget the transformative effect it had upon him.

I am so full of joy to have experienced his example in my lifetime. I so wish our novelists, film makers, documentarians did nore to refocus our attention on the mighty works this man wrought for the sake of the American soul. He should be honored as the true voice of America’s conscience for all time. He should be seen, heard and reflected upon in meditation groves and gardens planted in every American city, his words and deeds etched upon stones for us to ponder….

His words should be read, studied and proclaimed in every classroom and from every American pulpit, most certainly our own. I think most of us would be shocked to actually experience his intellectual vigor and vast stores of spiritual wisdom. Here is a Christian whose teachings Christians can be proud to own and will never be shamed by.”

And my favorite quote that always resonates most:

“I come to say to you this afternoon, however difficult the moment, however frustrating the hour, it will not be long, because “truth crushed to earth will rise again.” How long? Not long, because “no lie can live forever.” How long? Not long, because “you shall reap what you sow.” … How long? Not long, because the …arc of the moral universe is long, but it bends toward justice.”  – MLK

We’re not there yet but, every moment we spread the lessons of this man, we’re closer.

One comment on “Martin Luther King, Jr Day!

  1. I too am glad that we celebrate him….but not on the scale he so much deserves.

Leave a Reply

