Better to Ask Forgiveness

I was watching Dr Phil the other day.  Now that I’m a SAHM, I can do that.  <grin>  There was a woman who killed an intruder.  But really it was a girl who killed a killer.

The story was awful and I really shouldn’t have watched it.  But compare to all the episodes of Crimin*l Minds we watch, I don’t think it made me any more paranoid.  A bad man haunted her. She lived in the middle of nowhere – no neighbors.  She had an infant son.  First, he killed her (guard) dogs.  He banged on her door in the middle of the night.  As her husband was dying in a hospital, this man tried to scare her to death.  It was really, really awful.

One night, she knew he was going to break in.  She called 911 and asked permission to kill him if he entered.  Can you even imagine?

Admittedly, I think about this kind of stuff all the time.  I’m not often alone at night but what makes night more scary than day?  I was told that I should keep my alarm on all day – even when we’re home – and I do.  Most of the time.  Always at night, though.

Anyway, about a million years ago, I had a stalker.  It feels dramatic to say it but it’s true.  It started easy.  There would be fresh flowers on my car as I’d leave work.  He’d write odd little love poems and leave them on my wiper.  My co-workers and I would laugh at his ability to rhyme.  We figured he worked in my building and didn’t really think much of it.  But then he left a note that asked me to meet him at a local restaurant – a local restaurant that just happened to be at the top of a giant Mormon building.  Weird.  I obviously ignored it.

A few days later, I got dead flowers on my car.  Again, we joked about it.  In another note, he told me they were “dried” so that made it even funnier.  But then. one day, there were roses delivered to my house and another bunch of flowers left on my porch over night.  Not funny anymore.  I was totally creeped out.

I was dating a cop.  My first gf, actually.  She typically worked nights and was far more anxious about this guy than even I was.  We lived on a busy road and she would drive by all night – just to watch the house.  She was nice like that.  She thought she saw him (or someone) leaving our driveway one night but there were no flowers so she went on her way.  Later that morning, when letting our dog out, she noticed that the lock on our side door had been scraped up and he left his (dna) on our door and steps.  I know, gross.

It was a big deal.  The cops came and filed a report.  She no longer worked nights.  And a few weeks later, he tried to break in.

She told me to call 911 and roll off the bed, between the bed & the wall.  She grabbed her gun& then she left.  I heard her yelling as I was talking to the dispatcher.  When I told the lady where I was she said something like, “we already have a car on location”.  They were already there.  My gf, along with some other officer was chasing this person through our backyard.

They didn’t catch him.  But oddly enough, many months later, he was caught in Texas.  His DNA matched that of another crime he committed and he was sentenced for rape. Rape.  Crazy.  We later found out that I met him at a Super Bowl party months earlier.  – Some random guy that was friends with the host.  I was a guest of a friend who didn’t know him.  The officers told me he most likely got my home address from my license plate (DMV) and got my work address by following me.  (this is no longer possible, btw)

I couldn’t even tell you what he looks like.  I’ve thought about who he is but I think I’ve imagined his face.  Red hair, maybe.  Short, kinda stalky.

I’ve thought, a million times, what I would do with Glory in the house.  How could I grab her in time to run?  What window would we jump out of?  How far would we fall?  Or would I just ask someone permission to kill him… yes, yes I would.

3 comments on “Better to Ask Forgiveness

  1. Stacey says:

    Scary stuff. My wife loves Dr. Phil and PVRs it. I saw the episode you’re talking about and I can’t even imagine the fear she would have had…

    A gf who’s a cop? That sounds awesome. I think I’d never be scared. 😉

  2. That is the fucking scariest thing EVER ! OMG ! I’m so glad you dated a cop. and I’m very glad that she chose to change to days.

    Just more meat to add to your book, aye 🙂

    When I was young 10-11 maybe. I remember we found a ladder to my bedroom window one morning. There had been some similar break in/rapes in our little city. Who knows if it was anything. but I will always feel very lucky. oh and one early morning (6:30am) in downtown sl I jumped in an elevator in a parking garage and a guy got on and masturbated next to me.
    WTH !

    I hope Garcia is never involved on your behalf. Just sayin’

  3. Amy says:

    Holy crap, that’s scary stuff!!

Leave a Reply

