A Mormon President?

I know, more politics.

First, let me say that I truly like & respect Huntsman.  Remember him?  He dropped out after NH and he used to be my Governor.  He even came out in support of Civil Unions and, if you live where I live, you can only imagine the backlash he got from that statement.  Also, about 6 years ago, he vetoed a bill that would’ve made me lose an entire year with Gracie.  I like to think it was the card Gracie made him – the one from my Gracie to his Gracie – explaining how terrible the bill was.  But really, I think he’s just a good guy who tries to do the right thing. Of course, as soon as he decided to run for President, he took back all his wonderful words and learned to talk the talk.  Anyway…

Secondly, I don’t hate Mormons.  I kind of was one for a while and still love a whole slew of them – some who are even related to me!  <grin>  It’s true.  And I don’t think they all have 6 wives and 26 kids.  I don’t think they have horns on their heads and I don’t think they are a cult.  I do, however, think that there’s no way this “Christian Nation” could see past the Mormon religion and elect one for President.  – not even one like Romney – who’s kind of wishy washy as it is.

Lastly, out of the final four, if I had to have a favorite… I don’t.  But if I had to, it would be Paul.  He’s smart, people!  He knows what he’s talking about!  I mean, he’s just as wrong as the other 3 but at least he speaks his own words, gives his own explanations and doesn’t just throw out the same 1 liners that their campaign managers are giving them.  He’s incredibly intelligent and I even agree with some of his ideas.  I would love to see him debate President Obama but that’s not going to happen.  He left FL with 9%, I think.  And if he’s that great with finances, I’m guessing he won’t want to waste his campaigns much longer.

As for the other two, Santorum just scares me.  Really.  Not just because of women’s rights (which we agree more than disagree) but it’s just all that “foundation” talk, as if he wants us to get back to horses & buggy’s.  We’re just too far to go back, Rick!  You have the love of 60 Duggars, just leave the political arena for good and start another mega church.  The idea of him running our country?  Uh!  And Newt?  Sure, he has the experience.  Maybe he looks & speaks like a President but he’s not gonna be one.  No sir!  I don’t care that he’s been married 3 times.  So have I.  (sort of)  I don’t care that he wanted an open marriage.  That’s enough reason to leave him but not the business of the country.  (shame on the ex-wife!)  But he’s old school – he’s a good ‘ol boy and God knows that didn’t get us anywhere with W.

Let’s just be done with the play-offs and get to the Super Bowl!  Let’s start an official betting board.  $5 a square!  🙂

I’m all IN. I’m an Obama Mama, baby!

2 comments on “A Mormon President?

  1. Personally…my problem with him isn’t even the Mormon part….but that he’s the richest Mormon there is part 🙂
    I don’t want a President who’s been working for the rich to stay rich and the poor to stay poor.
    Because we all know that middle and lower class folk are just lazy bastards who take take take.

  2. Keri says:

    Very true. And I don’t hate the rich. I wish I was one of them! 🙂 I like to think, if I had oodles of money, I’d like to PROVE how much of it I gave away. I wouldn’t be hiding it away in other countries – betting against the economy of my own. …especially the county I was hoping to LEAD.

Leave a Reply

