She’s 2

Sure, she’s on the closer side to 3.  And she’s tall enough to be 4.  But I have to remind myself, she’s only 2 and there’s a reason they call them terrible.

Don’t get me wrong, she’s practically perfect.  Even delicious.  But boy does she try to make me admit I’m old and impatient and slow and tired.  She breaks crayons.  She throws her waffle on the floor when she’s had enough.  She has somehow forgotten what “no” means – unless she’s saying it to me.  She’s stingy with her hugs & kisses.  She’ll ask for something once – after that, she’ll demand it.

At the same time, she has learned her manners.  She says please & thank you.  She even says “scuse me” when she needs you to move or when she makes an unattractive noise from her body.

But then she’ll throw her shoe at me from the backseat of the car.  Or turn over her bowl of oatmeal when I ask her to finish.  Or she’ll take the sheets of her bed, knowing I’ll make it 3 times and give up on her nap.

Normal?  A bit too sassy?  Any tips that will help my old, impatient, tired self?

Sassy Pants

7 comments on “She’s 2

  1. Normal. 🙂
    Spirited.
    read 1-2-3 Magic. It’s as much for us as it is for them.
    You can also try raising the spirited child. For me it helped me feel the “normal” part of it and explained why.
    Understanding it all helped me with the patience.
    Big hug. This too shall….change. 😉

  2. Stefani says:

    Completely normal! My soon to be 2 year old son is a angel one minute; giving me raspberries the next.

  3. Gordon says:

    You’re a good Mommy and all is well. Just continue to love her no matter what and she’ll continue to love you back, no matter what…And so will I.
    BTW, I think it’s ok to require more hugs and kisses than she wants to give. Just ask Kristi. 😀

  4. Gordon says:

    I saw this quote and thought you might enjoy.

    “If you enter this world knowing you are loved and you leave this world knowing the same, then eveything that happens in between can be dealt with.”….Michael Jackson

  5. Stacy says:

    I’m in the same boat.
    The same tiring, head pounding, counting to 10 thing.
    *sigh*
    This too shall pass. 🙂

  6. Normal and very frustrating for the stay at home mom. The book that helped me get through the toddler years with Teo is The Happiest Toddler on the Block. Seriously.Good.Book
    Dr. Karp is the man.

  7. Ashley says:

    Your not in it alone! We have the same thing going on at our house. An angel one minute and then sassy, sassy, sassy! I love 1,2,3 magic and also Love & Logic. It is working for us but some days I don’t know what happened to my sweet baby.

Leave a Reply

