Lent

So I’m not religious.  And 40 days is a really long time.  But I do love Jesus and the idea of giving something up – a sacrifice – doesn’t seem like too much in comparison, right?  But then I went back through the years and thought about things I’ve given up.  Red meat, any meat but fish, cafe mochas, chocolate, soda, french fries, some dumb girl, another dumb girl, and so on.  What next?

I want to succeed.  I want to feel good at the end – you know, like I really wanted what I gave up but feel great that I was able to keep my promise.  Blogging was an option but that just seems mean.  (to me)  Facebook would be a good alternative but then I’d miss seeing all my friends that don’t blog.  I should give up Criminal Minds because it gives me nightmares but it’s just SO good – I’d surely fail at that.

Instead, 2 things.  Every morning, I will stretch and reflect on the blessings in my life.  There’s nothing bad about being more bendy and I really do have that much to be grateful for.  And I will not drink any brown soda.  This one isn’t hard, as I don’t drink much soda now but it’s something, right?  I realize this doesn’t mean much to Jesus and I certainly can’t give my brown soda to the poor (part of the meaning of Lent) but I will give to the Food Bank before Easter.  – $$ and food donation. So…3 things.

These are my sacrifice(s).  Not much.  But doable.  I’ll be proud of myself on Easter morning!  As a non-catholic, I think this is pretty good.  Welcome to Ash Wednesday.  🙂

You?

4 comments on “Lent

  1. Stacy says:

    Good for you!!
    I’m giving up rice. Do you know how hard that is for a Japanese chick??!!
    And Lent is 46 days this year!!! *sigh*

  2. oooh, brown soda is a big deal. I think you could give a case of diet coke to the food shelter and they’d LOVE it !

  3. Selmada says:

    I admit to being so non-religious that I don’t really know what Lent is (except friends tell me they are giving things up for it and for some reason eat pancakes before they do).
    But the Dr wants Nathan to go dairy and gluten free so both of those are disappearing from out place. But not for a short time, probably forever. Does it count?

  4. Gia says:

    I don’t do lent, but I do fast when I am believing for something big. People think i am weird for doing so, but I’ve got proof that it works. The first time, i went on a LIQUID ONLY fast for 21 days praying and believing in a baby that WAS NEVER SUPPOSED TO BE, the day after my fast ended I was pregnant….she is now 4 🙂

Leave a Reply

