Adventure

When I was younger, I craved adventure!  I learned how to ski when I was 3 years old.  I rode my bike all over the earth.  I loved 4 wheeling and rock climbing and even jumped out of a perfectly good plane 7 times.  Now a days, I’m a boohoo.  Everyone else’s tragedies have tainted my bravery level – not to mention the 30 extra pounds I could lose.

I grew up skiing.  We literally went skiing every single weekend through the winters.  We would pack a picnic, grab our gear and be gone until sundown.  My brothers and I would ditch our parents and find the most fantastic trails through the trees.  We’d find little jumps and tell each other that we “just landed a 12 footer!”  We participated in the Coca Cola Cup races every year and my brother Paul won a 3rd prize medal once.  It was amazing.  I thought I would ski until I died.

But somewhere along the way, I stopped.  It could’ve been after my brother had a terrible fall and cut his nose off his face.  Yeah, that might’ve been it.  But my brother is still a crazy skier and all of his kids ski or board.  I just stopped one year.  And a few years after that, I sold my gear and never bought it again.

But yesterday, after a decade or so, I skied.  My yodad got us passes for Christmas and we finally used them up!  Well, we partially used them up because God knows we didn’t make it ALL day but it was fantastic!  So fun!  Far more adventurous than we’ve dared lately and it was the first time Cristy and I have ever skied together.  Weird, right?  8 whole years and it’s just 20 minutes away.

It was amazing skiing with my yodad & sister.  He works up there on the weekends so, needless to say, he was a tiny bit better than me.  But still, he was patient and kind and hopefully had as much fun as we did.

Our last run was pretty awful.  I thought, by the time it was over, we were either going to kill each other or run over a very small child.  At one point, some kid slid in to Cristy and she actually snapped at him.  I should haven called the snow patrol at that point but we pulled through.  From that run, we went straight to the bar and from the bar we went straight to the car.  It was a perfect 6 hours or so and I hope we do it all over again very soon.

The Crew

This entry was posted in Family.

3 comments on “Adventure

  1. How fun ! and I just don’t see you being the adventure seeker but I am so glad to know it now. 🙂
    So glad you had the opportunity to jump back on the slopes.
    If it weren’t so FREAking expensive I think we’d all jump back on it.

  2. Gordon says:

    No question, it was one of the funnest days I’ve spent.
    I would LOVE to do it again.
    xoxox yodad.

  3. Amy says:

    Sounds like a fun day!! Like K, I dont see an adventure seeker in you but I’ll buy it. Jumping out of a perfectly good plane 7 times sounds just plane crazy : )

Leave a Reply

