32 Months

I don’t typically count the months anymore but it seemed appropriate.

Do any of you watch Parenthood?  If so, do you cry every through every damn episode?  Because seriously!  Part of the story is that one of the sisters and her husband have been trying to adopt a baby.  They know the birthmom and have walked the pregnancy with her.  She even lived with them, at one point.

If you read my last blog, you know that we were matched with another baby girl right before Glory.  Her birthmom was just 18 years old and terribly poor.  She lived with her grandmother (parents in prison) and they had been relocated (to nowhere) after Katrina swallowed their home in 2006.  She was desperate.  Her baby was 5 days old and she was worried about being able to feed her.  As I spoke with her, I fell in love with her.  I remember asking Cristy if we could just adopt them both.  I loved her and she loved her baby girl immensely.

The day she was supposed to get on a plane to bring her here, she changed her mind and decided to parent.  Of course, I was devestated.  I was at the mall, looking at baby furniture, when Cristy called to tell me.  I can still feel the pain of her words.  I remember every step I took trying to get to my car before breaking down.  But I couldn’t blame her.  I remember thinking, “I would’ve changed my mind too.”  It was the right thing for her.  And for Brielle, her daughter.  And it was probably the right thing for me because had I met that little girl (the mommy) I wouldn’t have been able to feel real joy without being able to share it with her.

I think about them all the time.  She would be just a few weeks older than Glory and I hope she’s just as full of life & love.

As for Glory, we think of her birthmom daily.  I don’t know her story – not much of it anyway.  But I love her with all my heart.  She could’ve made a number of different decisions for Glory but she chose us.  I wonder what it would be like to be able to share Glory’s life with her – while also hoping she would share those first 9 months that I missed.  I wish she could read here and see what a fantastic child she brought in to this world.  I wish she could really know who much she’s loved – so that there’s never a day where she wonders.

you have given me 32 months of pure bliss.  I will love & protect our little girl with every ounce of my being.  Upward & onward to THREE YEARS OLD.

Love, me.

My Favorite Zoo Animal!

8 comments on “32 Months

  1. You’ll need to print your blog into a book and put it in her file for the birth mother to get if she wants one day 🙂
    Everyone won ! Great story.

  2. Amanda says:

    Simply beautiful 🙂

  3. Tyffany says:

    This post is so full of love. Each one of those people, who started off as strangers, have added to your life in so many ways. And vice versa. 🙂

    Btw, you’ve been nominated!
    http://btmommy.blogspot.com/2012/02/im-versatile.html

  4. merr says:

    I love that show so much!!

  5. Leslie says:

    I love that show and yes…I watch it with box of tissue next to me. 🙂 My heart breaks for all of them.

    Leslie

  6. califherrera says:

    One of my absolute favorites! Yes,I also get teary-eyed when watching.

  7. I love Parenthood, and I cry my way through every episode. I’m so sad it’s over for this season. Anyway, I can’t imagine actually having gone through the rollercoaster of emotions that adoption can bring, and watching Julia & Joel’s storyline. Eesh

  8. I wasn’t done commenting, and accidentally posted. Just wanted to say that this was a lovely post. I often think of our donors and how lucky we are they chose to donate, so that we could be parents. But, birthmothers like Glory’s…such a sacrifice…to create our families… It would be great if she could know how loved Glory is.

Leave a Reply

