I will protect her like a lion!

Yegs has been playing basketball like crazy these days.  First it was every Saturday then this tournement started and it feels like we’ve been gone almost every evening.  Sadly, they lost the other night.  But happily, we are now home in the evenings!  <wink>

While we were sitting on the bleechers at the last game, a group of little girls sat around Glory.  They were probably about 15 feet away from us and I kept my “side-head” eye on them.  Something seemed kind of odd so I went over and introduced myself.  One girl was 6 and the other two were 7.

“Where is her daddy?”, one girl asked.  “She doesn’t have a daddy.  She has 2 mommies.”  “Is she adopted?  When she gets older can she see her daddy?”

Hence, a conversation took place that I think we’ll have a thousand more times.

I went back & sat with Cristy but watched them compare their color of hands, color of bellies.  I watched them touch her hair and tell her she was from A-f-r-i-c-a – likes she speaks a different language or is hard of hearing.

Why did this bother me so much?  I read and re-read books & articles about kids with gay parents – transracial families, etc and I’m so intimidated by this conversation between my baby and other little girls?  Get a grip!  I know.  I guess I’m just weirded out that I was so guarded and … “weirded out”.

Glory is a strong willed girl.  I have no doubt she’ll be able to hold her own.  But I do worry about living in a place where most kids look different and the kids(including her) are always going to be curious about that.  I just want to be better prepared so I can better prepare her.

3 comments on “I will protect her like a lion!

  1. Gordon says:

    I believe you will be pleasantly surprised to learn that kids are much more tolerant and unbias these days, (ok, maybe not in happy valley but you can avoid going there. I know I do).
    I believe you won’t have to ‘step in’ as often as you fear because you are correct. Glory is a very strong human specimen, both physically and emotionally. It’s gonna be fun and it’s gonna be beautiful.

  2. I remember my mom being so concerned when I told her that I was pregnant. How will people treat that baby. How will she survive school and mean kids. She will always be different from the other kids. She won’t be accepted. Why would I want to subject a child to all of this.

    I was absolutely certain that I would raise my baby girl to be this strong and confident, wiser than her years, who could defend and explain herself to anyone.

    Current day.

    We obviously don’t have to deal with the racial issues…but 2 moms and not being Mormon seem to be the topic that we struggle with.
    We talk, and she will tell us her concerns and the things that kids say. and I worry. and then I think things are fine. and then something else surfaces at school and I worry.

    I see other kids with 2 moms and they tell me that they aren’t having these issues and then I wonder if my strong and confident, wiser than her years child isn’t strong enough….confident enough. and then I worry.
    And then I find out from her teacher she’s having some issues in school and in the back of my head I keep hearing my moms words of worry when I was pregnant.

    I hear people say things like….ALL kids are teased in school. All kids are bullied at some point. All kids have problems with friends and such. It’s just part of growing up. She’ll be fine.

    I hope so Keri. I hope that they all grow up to be strong confident women, wiser than their years.
    And hopefully our actions and love will help guide them there.
    In the meantime. we’ll worry.
    🙂

  3. Yeah, I don’t have to worry about the bi-racial thing, but I do worry about my sensitive, older son, and how he will deal with peer pressure and having two moms. He’s sensitive, but also strong-willed, and can stand up for himself, though. I have seen him cave to peer pressure at the tender age of 4, though, so that worries me. I feel like the social issues happening for gay rights bring bullying on stronger because people are talking about it, and it’s probably discussed negatively in front of kids in anti-gay homes. Anyway, just wanted to say “I felt you” on this post. I think all of our kids will be fine eventually, but it will sometimes be hard not to worry about them.

Leave a Reply

