Language.

There is very little more interesting to me than language.  I admire anyone that can speak 2 of them because I haven’t yet mastered 1.  I love the different emphasis placed on different words.  But mostly I love listening to someone learn a language.  Not just any someone, my someone.

She is the first human that I’ve experienced every last one of her learned words.  I swear, every day she says 5 new things and her sentences are longer & longer every day – sometimes they don’t end ever.  <grin>  I love it when she points things out in a book.  “it’s a pig”  “he bites the salad”.

She’s starting to say people’s real names, instead of the nicknames she gave them.  “yay yay” is now YeaGa.  And many times a day we hear, “YeaGa, ca’monnn!”  …as he screams for help because she’s usually jumping on his back or ripping his homework from his hands.

She’s learned her name.  Sort of.  Sadly we gave her a hard name to pronouce but as of Saturday it’s “gorly”.  She can’t quite get the “L” in the right place but she’s close.  And did I tell you she can say her “l” sound perfectly?  It’s crazy!  So her name is said, “gorly ella”.  ah, she’s perfect.

Plus, she recognizes everything.  I swear, places we’ve been once or twice are staples in to her memory.  She knows who lives in which neighborhood.  If she see’s a white Traverse, she’s says, “It’s Aunt Kristi!”  Today, she saw a leather jacket and said, “papa!”, knowing my yodad has a leather jacket that she probably hasn’t seen in months.  And if I quickly put on Cristy’s shoes to take the garbage out (because why ELSE would I put them on) she’ll say, “those mama’s shoes!” and give me this mean little look like I’m stealing them.  She’s amazing!

Anyway, it’s just another thing I’m really enjoying.  Staying home gives me the opportunity to not miss a thing and I couldn’t be more grateful.

I love this baby.

 

6 comments on “Language.

  1. Amanda says:

    It is a “glorious” thing to watch these little creatures becoming THEM 🙂

  2. I love that picture of the 2 of you !
    I had a dream you were getting another little person. I guessed it in your face and you were shocked and surprised that I’d get that from a smile.
    Any ways.
    Good luck. In my dream you were getting a 6 year old though. hmm. 🙂

  3. Kristi says:

    I love you and I love Glory Ella. Reading ur thoughts is incredible. Thanks for being alive and being MY sister. Xox

  4. Cristy says:

    I love love love our beautiful baby and the evolution of her language. Everyday something new and I am amazed, and saddened, of how fast she is progressing.

Leave a Reply

