Mothers Day – for some

I used to dread this day.  Cristy would sweep the pile of me off the floor and carry me off on a drive that took up the whole day.  Even though she was a mother, we would barely acknowledge the day.  I would always write a little something to Gracie and her mom and imagine what their morning looked like.  I missed her every day but really selfishly missed her on Mothers Day.  My day.

I spoke with many moms yesterday morning that live that same life.  Some of them have been there for years and others, just a few months.  I heard things like:

Do you think he knows I’m missing him?
Does she even remember me?
I can’t breathe.

It’s hard to know what to say other than – the time goes by, I promise.  And one day you’ll have every opportunity to explain where you’ve been and that you’ve been waiting.  And eventually, they’ll put the pieces of their life together.  There will be answers for both of you.

If you get a chance, look up the Sean Goldman story that aired on Dateline just a few Friday’s ago.  It’s the story of a boy stolen by his mother and taken to Brazil.  He was 4.  After a crazy turn of events, he was finally returned at the age of 9.  Parental Alienation played a big factor but the things he held quietly (while waiting) were really amazing and reassuring.

See it.  Let it give you hope.  Allow every little thing to give you hope.

Happy Mothers Day, my friends.

2 comments on “Mothers Day – for some

  1. nichol bowden says:

    Mercy called me sunday. I know my separation from her is totally different from what you and others are going through, as it was a choice I had to make. For the first time since she was 4 I heard her tell me she loves me. Keri, I can not tell you how amazing it was, and how completely heartbreaking. I felt totally undeserving, ashamed and exhilarated.I didn’t know what to do. I tell her every time I text, message or speak to her. I will say it a million times a day so she knows. But to finally hear it from her….Wow. She is an amazing woman. And I thank you, Jeannie and Bob, and the rest of the family for helping her become who she is. She may not have grown up with you but you have always been a Mom to her, Your love for her shows in every word you speak to her. Glory is so lucky to have you, Cristy and Yeager. You are the best. I love you. Happy Mother’s day.

  2. Keri says:

    Aw, Nichol – that is just the sweetest thing I’ve heard all day. Mercy has been such a blessing in my life – beginning with her bringing you home when you were pregnant. Having you both live with me that short time left lasting, wonderful memories and when she came to live with me – I knew I’d hold her in my heart for the rest of my life. I am so thankful that you brought her home to our family.
    And aside from all of that, I am so happy for you & your renewed relationship with her. She really is magical and I know, knowing you, has filled a lot of holes for her. I’m sure it’ll only get more wonderful.
    Love to you & Gene! Happy Mothers Day!

Leave a Reply

