Mothers Day For Me!

So I also wanted to write a little something about this sweet, little firecracker that makes me a mother every. single. day.  Birth Mothers Day is celebrated the day before traditional Mothers Day so this post will be throwing all that together.

It’s amazing how long I’ve waited for this baby.  I knew her name decades ago.  Most of my dreams showed her as a hispanic child – long, black hair.  I imagined her on the shoulders of my partner with sticky fingers from cotton candy.  Sometimes she was african american with deep, dark skin.  I wondered what our hands would look like together – covered in sticky cotton candy.  We only ever used dark donors so it’s a wonder that God knew who to send.

3 years ago I sat broken hearted on Mothers Day for the last time.  Because 3 years ago a beautiful, thoughtful, very tall woman was making a decision for both of us that would change our lives forever.  She has two other children who have a different father.  She knew she couldn’t care for another to the best of her ability.  She wanted more for her and I made a promise to do my best.

I have no doubt she thinks of Glory.  And I hope to share every piece of information I have about her with Glory as soon as she’s old enough to ask.  I will tell her how much her birth mother loved her – that she made the ultimate sacrifice for her and gave the greatest gift to us.  I will tell her she’s very athletic and smart – and that I can’t wait until we can meet her together.

Glory fills my heart.  She exhausts me more than I ever imagined but not more than she makes me smile.  Watching her learn and grow is a miracle.  Every word.  Every song.  Watching her fall in love with her family and friends is magic.  She names them every day again & again.

Whoever thought she was the perfect girl to complete my life was right.  Whether it was the stars, my good friend Jesus, or just her amazing birth mom – I am thankful.

One comment on “Mothers Day For Me!

  1. kjandthekids says:

    Hope you had a wonderful mothers day !

Leave a Reply

