Yeah, Baby!

So, I know every good lesbian has a crush on Jilli*n Michaels (Biggest Loser).  – except me.  She’s pretty.  She’s tough.  But she scares me and I’m just too fragile for that kind of girl.

Anyway, I read an article about a year ago where she spoke of wanting to adopt.  Turns out she was already in the process and waiting for her daughter.  A few weeks ago, she brought her home.  Seeing the photos brought tears to my eyes.  This magical little girl waited 2 years to come home to her moms.  (her other mom actually gave birth a week before she came home.  she met her new brother when she arrived.)

It got me thinking…why does it have to be so hard?  & it’s not just hard for me and my average income friends.  It’s even hard for mean, scary girls like Jillian and her partner.  There are all these children needing homes.  And all these parents needing their babies.  The solution seems clear to me so why can’t it be that easy?  I mean, these dating sites pop up and match people… sheesh!

Either way, should I somehow inherit $40K, I will have the answer.  Until then, congrats to a new mom – of 2!

 

7 comments on “Yeah, Baby!

  1. Stacy says:

    She scares me too!! I think I would cry and then vomit if she was yelling in my face.
    I wonder if she’s gonna try and train off her partner’s baby weight. 🙂

  2. Amanda says:

    Not gonna lie, the financial aspect and lengthy wait are the main concerns that hold us back from jumping into the adoption process. Added is the fact that we live in an area that HIGHLY observes and encourages parental reunification (the potential is there for years) and that straight to adoption without fostering is almost unheard of. We have a friend who entered the process of foster to adopt with the hopes of being put on the fast track to being able to adopt and 6 years later she has fostered 47 children and successfully adopted 1 (a little boy around the same age as Glory and my son) and she has 2 older children (ages 7 and 9) that have lived with her and been in her family since they were 1 and 3 yrs old and parental rights are still not terminated, so an adoption cannot take place, even though the mother only sees the children 1-2 times a year and under strict supervision due to a bad drug habit. It seems the system would be more “placement friendly” with all these children that need homes.

  3. stacey says:

    LOL @ Stacy’s comment.

    I think Jillian kept private about her life (i.e. partner) during her adoption. Haiti does not allow same-sex couples to adopt so she probably did a single parent adoption to get her home.

    We adopted within Canada and it was free. If you do a public adoption here, you don’t have to pay anything except for your police check. The wait can be insanely long though–it really depends. Ours moved REALLY fast (adopted in just over a year after applying to start the adoption process) but that’s because we have a Native match–the cultural match made it easier/faster.

  4. I didn’t know Jillian was gay ? Really ?
    I think I’m a fan NOW that I know she’s gay 🙂
    No. I’m with you. Just not my cup o tea and not because of the yelling and scariness. I kinda like that.

  5. Merr says:

    I have always loved Jillian! She can yell at me any day, and make me cry! As long as she hugs me and makes it all better!!

  6. Lori says:

    Seriously? I’m NOT a lesbian and I have a crush on Jillian Michaels! Yes, she’s scary and she yells and cusses a lot, but then she always takes the person out back and provides them with heartfelt therapy. When I used to watch Biggest Loser I always said I would want to be on Jillian’s team. My friends were all in Camp Bob but not me.

  7. Cristy says:

    Keri Keri Keri, I KNOW you LOVE JM. Why do you lead your loyal readers astray?? You would love nothing more than to have JM toss you around while flaring her nostrils.

Leave a Reply

