Post Pride

Another year, come & gone!  It still feels a little strange not being so immersed in the whole weekend but it also gives me perspective that I’ve never had before.  What an amazing weekend!

This year, we marched with eBay.  We’ve never marched “un-political” and it was actually kind of nice.  No chanting.  No signs to advertise.  Just our cute marching shirts and our adorable baby girl on her decked out big wheel.  – she rode the entire route!

The most amazing part of the day was watching the 300 Mormons kick off the parade!  They showed up in full church wear (typically suits & ties, dresses, heels, etc.)  They had lovely, supportive signs to show their support of the LGBT community and I’m sure it meant a LOT to a LOT of people.  Although I wasn’t raised Mormon, it meant a great deal to me – just knowing what it meant to so many people I love.  (I think I’ll be talking a bit more on this later in the week.)

For the 2nd year in a row, my new family marched with us.  My dad, our Annie, my sister Kristi & my adorable niece & nephew!  It was fun watching the kids – mostly because they all thought the parade was simply for them.  Thousands of people (close to 15K, I hear) lining the streets to take a peek at the worlds cutest cousins!  I loved having them there and hope it’s becoming an annual tradition.

Most likely, it’s Pride this month where you live too and I just wanted to wish you all peace & love & celebration where you are!  I feel lucky to live a life unafraid and unashamed of the person I am and the family I have.  If it were a choice, I’d choose it.  If there were a “healing pill”, I wouldn’t take it.  Be who you are – YOU are loved!

Proud like Crazy!

5 comments on “Post Pride

  1. Hutch says:

    I can’t wait to see more pictures. More specifically of the Mormons.

  2. amy says:

    The Mormons at the beginning were amazing, brought tears to my eyes and I even noticed some at the end carring the giant rainbow flag in one hand and their church books in the other. I saw Glory on her big wheel and she seriously is adorable!

  3. Amanda says:

    Love this!!!! That is a rocking ride Glory has there!

  4. Stacy says:

    That’s awesome!! Hawaii has some learning to do about Pride. 🙂
    It’s small but it’s ours I guess.
    I heard about the Mormon contingent and that is fantastic!! How empowering for so many.

Leave a Reply

